top of page

The Great Affairs Special Guests 9/29/2020

"The Great Affairs is a rock ‘n’ roll band. You get it all: Classic Rock, Power Pop, Roots Rock, Southern Rock…when you think you are hearing Cheap Trick, The J. Geils Band, The Bottle Rockets and Bad Company at the same time, you are probably a good listener."

-Patrick Donders, Sweet Sweet Music

In June of 2018, Kivel Records released The Great Affairs’ 'Ten & 2'. That record found the band pursuing a more muscular, guitar-heavy sound, owing as much to their Classic Rock forebears as formative efforts had to the Singer/Songwriter model. Inspired perhaps by their 2017 covers EP ‘Six Pack’, where the band mined and re-imagined gems from ‘70s FM stalwarts like Thin Lizzy, Fleetwood Mac, and Cheap Trick, the collection openly embraced their various influences to create a sound both comfortably familiar and refreshingly its own.

Now, after a handful of singles, and frontman Denny Smith’s second solo LP ‘From The Dark’ in 2019, the band return in the final quarter of 2020 with a new full-length offering. ‘Everybody Moves, Nobody Gets Hurt.’ runs the gamut, possibly covering more ground sonically and stylistically in its 10-song arc than all of their previous releases combined.

Teaming once again with Grammy-winning mixer and engineer Michael Saint-Leon(Buddy Guy, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram), along with Joshua Ketchmark to produce the album, the band made use of the year’s unfortunate circumstances, occupying their quarantine downtime with remote recording sessions at various home studios, and gradually building demo tracks into fully realized arrangements. This process; while logistically problematic at times, resulted in some unique collaborations, and what is arguably their most polished release to date.

"...the instant hooks and melodies of Cheap Trick, with the Americana of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers..."

-Screamer Magazine


Denny Smith: vocals, guitars, harmonica

Patrick Miller: lead guitar, vocals

Matt Andersen: bass, vocals

Kenny Wright: vocals, drums, percussion



Copyright 2024 ©  The Record Machine Show All Rights Reserved

bottom of page